Election recap: Here’s what happened in the five states required to vote in 2018 | Latest news India | spcilvly

The Election Commission on Monday announced the election schedule for five states – Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram.

Five states will go to the polls between November 7 and 30.  (PTI)
Five states will go to the polls between November 7 and 30. (PTI)

Elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases, with the first round of voting on November 7 and the second round on November 17.

In Mizoram, voting will be held on November 7, while in Madhya Pradesh elections will be held on November 17. Rajasthan will go to polls on November 23 and Telangana on November 30 in a single phase.

The counting of votes in the five states will take place on December 3. The polls would set the stage for the last major electoral exercise before the 2024 national elections.

While the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) rules Telangana, Madhya Pradesh is ruled by the BJP. The Congress is in power in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan and the Mizo National Front is in power in the northeastern state.

Here is a summary of what happened when these states went to elections last time.

Madhya Pradesh

The 2018 assembly elections in the state resulted in a non-consensus assembly after the Congress won 114 seats, two short of the majority mark in the 230-seat assembly, while the BJP won 109 seats. The Congress formed the government in December 2018 with the support of two Bahujan Samajwadi Party MLAs, one Samajwadi Party and four independent MLAs.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (PTI)
Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan (PTI)

However, after 15 months, on March 21, 2020, as many as 22 sitting Congress members resigned under the leadership of Jyotiraditya Scindia and joined the BJP, toppling the Kamal Nath-led Congress government. On March 23, Shivraj Singh Chouhan took oath as chief minister and formed the BJP government.


In the 2018 Assembly elections, the Congress defeated the BJP by winning 100 seats. The BJP scored 73.

Congress veteran Ashok Gehlot formed the government with the support of the BSP and independent MLAs.

In 2020, the Gehlot government faced a test after his deputy, Sachin Pilot, along with 18 MLAs moved to neighboring Haryana, where the BJP is in power. His move led to reports that the saffron party was trying to woo the disgruntled leader and topple Gehlot’s government. Pilot was sacked as deputy chief minister and state Congress chief.

The crisis that lasted almost a month forced the high command of Congress to intervene.

Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Congress leader Sachin Pilot.  (ANI)
Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Congress leader Sachin Pilot. (ANI)

In 2022, the state again witnessed drama after a majority of Congress MLAs offered to resign amid speculation that Gehlot would be appointed Congress president.

This time, the incumbent Congress aims to win the state and break the trend of three decades of power-sharing alternately between the Congress and the BJP.


The Congress registered a landslide victory in the 2018 Chhattisgarh elections, winning 68 seats in the 90-member assembly.

The BJP, which was in power in the state since 2003, was reduced to 15 seats, while the Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J), led by former chief minister Ajit Jogi, managed to win five seats. Jogi’s ally Bahujan Samaj Party had won two seats. The Congress Party appointed Bhupesh Baghel as chief minister.

In June this year, the Congress Party, in a surprise move, appointed TS Singh Deo as the state’s deputy chief minister, just a few months before the Assembly elections.

Singh Deo has been seen as a rival to Baghel and the move was seen as an attempt by the party to avoid a Rajasthan-like situation in Chhattisgarh.


Early elections were necessary in Telangana in 2018 after Chief Minister K. Chandrasekhar Rao dissolved the assembly in September that year.

The counting of votes was carried out in all five states and the results were declared on December 11, 2018.

The Telangana Rashtra Samiti, now renamed Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), retained power after winning 88 of the 119 Assembly seats. Congress won 19 seats, while All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen won 2 seats.

Bharat Rashtra Samithi chief and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao.
Bharat Rashtra Samithi chief and Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao.

The BRS now hopes to return to power after winning polls in 2014 and 2018, even as a resurgent Congress is expected to put up a stronger fight.


The Mizo National Front (MNF) formed the government in Mizoram in 2018, defeating the Congress in its last stronghold in the northeast.

The MNF won 26 of the 40 seats and secured a majority on its own with 37.70% of the votes. The Congress, which was in power since 2008, came third with just five seats and 30% of the votes.

The Multinational Force had returned to power in Mizoram after 10 years. MNF leader Zoramthanga was appointed prime minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *