The schedule of 2023 Assembly elections has been announced for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh. Check dates | spcilvly

Assembly Election Schedule: The Election Commission of India on Monday announced the election schedule for five states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh. Elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Mizoram will be held in a single phase, while elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases.

Voting will be held in Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh (Phase 1) on November 7; Chhattisgarh phase 2 on November 17; Rajasthan on November 23; Telangana on November 30. The counting of votes will take place on December 3.

According to the Election Commission, there are 16.14 million voters in these five states. Mizoram has 8.52 crore, Chhattisgarh 2.03 crore, Madhya Pradesh 5.6 crore, Rajasthan 16.14 crore and Telangana 3.17 crore. The Commission also reported that there are 8.2 million male voters, while 7.8 million voters are women.

“Of the 8.52 million voters in Mizoram, 4.13 million voters are men and 4.39 million voters are women. In Chhattisgarh, there are 1.01 million male voters, while 1.02 million are women. Madhya Pradesh has 2.88 million male voters and 2.72 million female voters. In Rajasthan, there are 2.73 million male voters and 2.52 million female voters. In Telangana, there are 1.58 million of male voters and 1.58 million female voters,” according to data published by the EC.

Around 60 lakh first-time voters between the age of 18 and 19 will participate in the elections in the five states. “To inspire young voters, more than 2,900 polling stations will be run by youth,” EC said. Of the 60.2 lakh first-time voters in five states, 50,611 are voters in Mizoram, with 7.23 lakh in Chhattisgarh, 22.36 lakh in Madhya. Pradesh, 22.04 lakh in Rajasthan and 8.11 lakh in Telangana.

There are 17.34 lakh persons with disabilities (PWD) voters in 5 states. The EC reported that 100 per cent enrollment has been achieved in particularly vulnerable tribal groups in four states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana.

EC also said that there is an improved gender ratio in the electoral roll in all the five states compared to the previous assembly elections in 2018.

According to the electoral body, a total of 1.77 lakh polling stations will be established, of which 1.01 lakh will have webcasting facility. “17,734 model polling stations will also be installed,” the statement said.

EC further mentioned that a polling station has been set up on the Chhattisgarh-Odisha border, which will save 8 kilometers of travel for the villagers. Likewise, a polling station was set up in Mamjohli, Barmer, specifically for 49 voters in the area.

C Vigil app was also launched on the occasion. “It will allow anyone in the poll-bound state to report violations of the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) which comes into force from today. Citizens can immediately report incidents of misconduct within minutes of witnessing them,” he said. EC.

“Single application to record, report and resolve violations. GIS location is captured with a response within 100 minutes. If the citizen wishes, he does not need to give his name and remain anonymous,” EC said.

CEC Rajiv Kumar added, “The polls in the five states are of unique importance as they serve as the final assembly elections before the big stage of national elections in 2024.” Furthermore, he assured that the ECI will ensure free, fair and incentive-free elections in these five states. five states.

Of the five states, Madhya Pradesh is currently governed by the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), while Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh are governed by the Congress Party and Telangana by the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS). Mizoram is currently governed by the Mizo National Front (MNF).

The term of the Legislative Assemblies of Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh ends in January 2024, while that of Mizoram ends in December this year.

Elections in five states are crucial as they will be held months before the Lok Sabha elections in April-May next year.

Congress and BJP are the key players in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan. Telangana is expected to witness a triangular contest between the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, the Congress and the BJP.

“Exciting news! Mint is now on WhatsApp channels 🚀 Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay up to date with the latest financial insights.” Click here!

Check out all the business news, market news, breaking news events and latest news updates on Live Mint. Download The Mint News app for daily market updates.

More less

Updated: October 9, 2023, 02:34 pm IST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *